RSS

contrivable

28 Feb

pure enjoyment aside, i’m starting to come to some (perceived) realizations about our blogging community. the one that has struck me with the past few days round of comments is how many colleagues are yet to see this as ‘real, and i think those types of comments are well founded. there are lots of ways that we communicate but unless it is the standard verbal face to face it seems like it is a cheap imitation, particularly if we could walk across the sea of cubes and have the conversation in ‘real life’. i value the conversations i have on our blogs because they aren’t taking the place of what i would normally have, they are supplementing them. i would have nearly none of the conversations i am able to have through blog posts and commentary. i’m enjoying learning about my colleagues and their views on our professional work. i can only imagine how much closer i would have been with my staff had we implemented a campus blog. the more shared understandings = the better the team = the better the team functions = the more kids learn. sounds so easy 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “contrivable

  1. MTB

    February 28, 2009 at 4:40 am

    As you can probably tell, I, too, am enjoying our new blog spot. Eventhough it may feel a bit “contrived” at the present time, it is still adding value for me. I have enjoyed reviewing the sites and information on the links shared by team members and am being exposed to information and ideas that I would otherwise have been too busy to stop and view. I am also connecting with several team members that I had not previously had many opportunities to connect with. I know each blogger a bit better, and the more I know people, the easier it is for me to connect them to work I know they will enjoy. Contrived? For some, maybe. Personally, I have found it to be a meaningful (and very pleasant) addition to my daily work.

     
  2. D Greenberg

    February 28, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    i too am beginning to feel like it is a seamless part of my day. blogging feels more natural the more you do it, i know that seems self evident, but it really is true. i also enjoy how we are all interacting, that has made it seem easier as well.

     
  3. Jeri Cook

    March 1, 2009 at 6:12 am

    I look forward to emptying my mind of the many random and connected thoughts I have. It seems that as life happens, I now think of how it will translate into a blog. No longer contrived but very natural.

     
  4. D Greenberg

    March 1, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    i too find myself saying, this would be a good blog topic. i don’t think i go out of my way to create those moments, but i’m now aware that some moments are worth sharing. does that mean i’m now valuing ideas and instances that i would have dismissed previously?

     
  5. kvanek

    March 9, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I'm enjoying blogging with our team more and more. Before when I came across an "ah-ha" moment in life or literature, I'd pull a sticky note out of my purse (always a stash in there) and make a note. I'd either stick this note on the book page or to the face of my small wallet. Once in a while, I'd find a willing ear to share this illuminating thought with me (mostly my sis in Arizona). Now I get to bring it up with you wonderful scholars and thinkers and I must reflect upon it more so because I'm composing my deeper thoughts on it. As such, I eagerly anticipate the rewards as blogging develops more of a presence for the C & I team. We will get there, it's just a change of habits of the mind which takes energy and determination.

     

Leave a Reply

 
