RSS

my potential breach of weekendiquette

12 Apr

i may have committed a faux pas this weekend. in fact, i may be guilty of doing so several times. when i have some time to work on work over the weekend it usually entails going over what i need to get done and then firing off some emails, generally with some questions i need answers to. i never gave it much thought, but i suppose that it allows me to be productive on monday as that is when i would usually search out said answers. funny thing happened this last weekend, after i sent off a few emails with fairly typical questions i got a text from a co-worker asking if this was something that she needed to take care of immediately. my answer was of course not, but my attempt to get my work life organized may have been viewed differently, in fact this may have happened more than this time, this happens to be when it was brought to my attention. i thought about the emails that i send out and i don’t think any of them seem urgent, but i can see why someone would look at an email and say to themselves “well, he is sending this out on the weekend, perhaps it’s urgent?” (small footnote: the reader of the email would be checking their work email over the weekend, but i feel that is another conversation completely, not that there’s anything wrong with that!) perhaps i should put a standard disclaimer on weekend email, something to the effect of ‘this isn’t urgent, just a question that i’m sure to ask you on monday in the first part of the day’. i don’t think email is a mode of urgent expression – texting, phone calls, and/or face to face questions seem to denote urgency to me, but this isn’t about me really. it’s about my very brief (we’re talking seconds at most) sense of guilt that i was imposing on a colleague’s weekend solace by sending out emails. any rulings?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “my potential breach of weekendiquette

  1. Heather Tate

    April 13, 2009 at 6:33 am

    I think the issue is not the work vs. weekend situation when it comes to email but the fact that email, text, or other nonverbal means of communication lacks to convey tone. I think the situation was more like your colleague tends to be forgetful and appreciates the other teammate’s reminders of things to do. Also, the request of whether you wanted it done right away was out of respect for you as a teammate and wanting to help no matter what day of the week πŸ™‚

     
  2. texasbuckeye

    April 13, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    tone is a tough one in emails. i think that is why so many people rely on πŸ™‚ or πŸ˜€ or phrases like LOL! it ensures the reader understands the light hearted nature of certain commentary.

     
  3. karen vanek

    April 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I think folks check their emails when they want to catch up or get ahead of the work week. At least that’s how I do it. I don’t so much worry about something being urgent (unless it’s so stated and then I’d expect a phone call or text). I just like checking things off my list and if I can snag a few weekend minutes to do so, I feel like I’ve gifted myself with a productive next work day.

     
  4. Jeri

    April 23, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    I’m probably most guilty of sending e-mails after a high powered meeting to my team members. And I sometimes fail to prioritize urgency. One has said to me–expect the e-mails to fly once the meetings over. The team is so incredible, I never want them to be a step behind anyone so I’m constantly thinking of ways to move them to the next level. They are such wonderful bright stars. It would kill me if I ever did anything to make that special energy diminish.

     

Leave a Reply

 
