RSS

my own bit of action research

15 May

can anyone honestly tell me that the last song they listen to in the car before getting out and making your way into work doesn’t have an effect on your flow as your find your work area and get going? really. this morning was an iphone morning where i plugged in and let shuffle take me to work, as the sports scene didn’t have much that would interest me. i realize that mood influence the songs you want to hear, but the songs you hear will often influence mood? i’m not as experienced as some of my colleagues are in the art of action research but i wonder what would happen if we agreed on a song to listen to as we drove in each morning for a week? would we be able to have some sort of communal experience? what types of songs would we choose. we might want to be wary of choosing a song that would get you too amped up as we might end up having some sort of confrontation on our hands. if we went with easy listening would we be in the proper frame of mind to work? i think we should look at what we have to accomplish that day and play the proper music for the task at hand. we can’t honestly be expected to listen to the same type of music each day and somehow act differently. i don’t think this would work in our cubes because not everyone prefers to work to music (coldplay, the hardest part is playing currently). either way there i’m sure there is something to it. regardless of how nasty my morning as been, the right song will either affirm my feelings or change my mood completely.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “my own bit of action research

  1. Heather Tate

    May 15, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    To take a completely different spin on this topic and how much a single song can effect a mood. I heard on the radio that as a type of torture, a prisoner is put in a room and made to listen to the same song over and over again, non stop!!!!
    I vote the song “Say what you need to say” by John Mayer. If you have ever heard it, you need to and think about having to listen to it over and over again! I would spill the beans if I was a prisoner after just two samplings! šŸ™‚

     
  2. Stephanie

    May 18, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Today was such a beautiful day, I decided to keep my commitment to self and take a walk. I had recently downloaded two songs that a few have said encompass the current happenings in the department. Both songs are upbeat and motivating, and I ended up walking my usual route in record time! I was definitely refreshed and motivated when I returned home. Was it the music or just the much needed exercise? I think it was a bit of both. I participated in a fun activity at a museum during spring break– using brain waves to move a marble. It was a competition between two minds. I was winning until they put on some hard rock music. It stumped my concentration and my opponent won. I think there is something in the music. It’s a very special therapy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
