RSS

getting that ‘back to school’ feeling

15 Aug

since becoming a 12 monther this past year, i’ve lamented on missing the milestones on the school calendar; the little sign posts that let you count the passing days; the events that fall ritualistically each year.  i missed the countdown to extended holidays or summer break, not because i couldn’t wait for a time out of school (only sometimes!) but because it was something we did each year…and i’m a checker, i enjoy marking days/items/events off a list.  well, a bit of a thank you goes out to my manager/team leader for helping a guy out.  i was pleasantly surprised to find a laundry list of new and exciting initiatives/projects/directions that our team will be going in the next month or two and while it took me a while to figure it all out, i have come to the conclusion that she has provided something i was really missing, that being the excitement of the new school year.  this is when teachers make grand plans that may, or may not, come to fruition.  nonetheless, dreaming of ‘what could be’ is something i always enjoyed and i’m getting that same feeling now, although unlike my harried time in the classroom i feel like my current position is going to afford me the time to realize the big goals that the team has set in front of us.  looking forward to it.  that, and a new list 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “getting that ‘back to school’ feeling

  1. Janice D.

    August 31, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Before school started, I read all of my friends’ posts on facebook – about how they were counting down the days and NOT so looking forward to the 1st day of school — and I actually felt good that they had to get back to work again 🙂 However, unless they were moved to another grade level or another school, I felt they’d pretty much be doing the same things; something I don’t want to get stuck with. So, even if I have to work 12 months, I’m glad I have something new each year to look forward to…. I love change and challenges!

     

Leave a Reply

 
