RSS

maybe that’s what got me into trouble as a kid

13 Oct

i just don’t like to be told what to do, it’s really not any more difficult to say than that.  i have a hard time believing that anyone likes being told what to do but i hear those people walk the earth as well.  to be honest it has been an issue for me at times.  i don’t always disagree with the content of the “order” but i usually have a problem with the manner in which it is told to me.  i’ll find myself disagreeing with someone even though i totally in favor of what they are saying, perhaps that just makes a contrarian, which would be the topic of another entry entirely…or maybe not. perhaps that i what lies at the very heart of my problem?  i’ve had the good fortune of finding myself in working situation where this has never been an issue, at least not when it comes to what matters.  when i was in the classroom i had the autonomy to cover the content in the way i saw fit for my students, so if i am being told to document something on a lesson plan in a particular fashion, so be it, it was not a hill i was going to die on so to speak.  looking back on it, because of the very important work that i believe i was doing (educating middle schoolers) it was easy to let some of the edicts from the top roll off my back; if i had to jump through a particular hoop every once in a while i could handle it only because of what my focus was upon.  as i’ve transitioned to professional development i’ve learned the real importance of professional learning, but i don’t have the same passion that i did in the classroom and being told to do things rings a bit differently.  in the classroom it was all about the kids, in the cube i’m not entirely sure what it’s all about.

HUGE DISCLAIMER: i enjoy what i’m doing, and i look forward to coming to work and having the opportunity to work on different projects and initiatives.  we have that part clear, right?  good.  however, as most teachers would agree, in comparison to the work we do with students most everything we do in the educational world pales in comparison because in the end if the students aren’t benefiting then we aren’t making the change we promised to make when we took our teaching jobs.  professional development has the unique opportunity to influence teachers and administrators so that students can benefit.  if we do it right, then we are the people teachers turn to for new ideas and better ways to engage their students.  to my knowledge we’re yet to develop a module for teachers that help them work with kids who don’t like being told what to do or feel forced to disagree with whatever is being asked of them.  perhaps i should work on that, i know a little something about that 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “maybe that’s what got me into trouble as a kid

  1. Janice D.

    October 13, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I dislike being told what to do, even if I know it’s for my own good. I guess in any situation, the manner of delivery affects my reaction and attitude…. or maybe I just don’t like being told because I hate to be NOT in control 🙂

     
  2. Heather Tate

    October 14, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I don’t mind being told what to do if I really don’t care. But if I have a true passion or belief towards an issue or project, then being told what to do is hard. I want it to be my baby.

     
  3. Jeri

    October 21, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    I don’t like being told what to do and I especially don’t like being told to tell other people what to do.
    Ask me, request of me, but don’t tell me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
