RSS

clustrmaps and lurkers

14 Nov

i don’t care if they stumbled upon this blog by accident or fell on their keyboard and found themselves here, i think it is pretty cool that i’ve had visitors to this blog from around the world.  🙂  if i could find a clever way of having them post…now that would be REALLY cool.    i read a great post about lurking yesterday, i like the way the author wonders about what is stopping lurkers.  in face to face conversation, if you had something to say you would say it, right?  so what is stopping lurkers from sounding off?  do they not care?  i agree with several of the commenters to the post – conversation is important and if large segments of our profession continue to remove themselves from that conversation it can have ripple effects.  we use the book ‘cradles of eminence’ in one of our sessions and there is a conversation we have about a particular genius who fails to contribute thus  he is never considered eminent, which is tragic considering his brilliance.  i think this relates.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “clustrmaps and lurkers

  1. Heather Tate

    November 20, 2009 at 9:49 am

    It’s funny that as I was catching up on reading your blogs, which I truly enjoy, I thought to myself that I am still a lurker, and then read this post. The reason why I am a lurker on your blog is this, I pretty much agree with everything you post about or have been personally involved, etc. lunch, coaching at TH. My motivation for posting led by a “pull” or “need” to express myself. The nature of a business blog is of neutral ground. I would like to read a blog that you wrote, raw and real. I was thinking about making my own personal blog, about my feelings and life experience. I know THEN I would blog regularly. I would have to keep it private though, considering I know myself and my lack of filter sometimes 🙂

     
  2. texasbuckeye

    November 20, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    @heather take a look at the root post that i linked to, it is interesting what people are saying about being part of professional conversation. having said, that i think you should blog. as a kid i remember hearing about the positives of keeping a log or journal, not only is it about writing and literacy but emotionally its a good idea to have a place to put things. i have a personal blog as well, but i don’t use it much. in fact, i’ve tried to keep it up, but i feel like all of my musings can be framed in this space.

     

Leave a Reply

 
